is accepting nominations for its 2015 Residential HVAC Contractor of the Year Award. CB operates an open-ended nomination process for this award, which is given to a residential HVAC contractor who represents the best that the residential HVAC industry has to offer.


Among the requirements for qualification, an HVAC contractor must:

  • Be in business at least 10 years
  • Have a formalized business plan which they are willing to describe
  • Be active in at least one HVAC industry association
  • Provide ongoing training for employees
  • Employ certified refrigerant handling technicians
  • Have NATE-certified technicians on staff
  • Be open to new ideas and business practices
  • Have a philosophy around which the company is built
  • Have a marketing strategy and a marketing budget.

We look for candidates who embrace change, and who seek innovative ways to better understand and serve customers. In the interest of a thorough consideration, the following conditions must also be met by the winning contractor:

  1. Allow an editor to spend up to two days with them, interviewing key personnel and customers for use in the story that will appear in the February issue of
  2. Provide letters of recommendation from a customer, an association, and either a distributor or manufacturer.
  3. Serve for two years on CB’s advisory board. This could involve occasional contibutions to stories, and possibly an article related to HVAC business management.

To submit a nomination, send a nomination letter to Terry McIver, executive editor, Contracting Business, 1300 E. 9th St., Cleveland, OH 44114 — explaining why you think they are good candidates for this award. Or send an email: