Joe Parsons, chief operating officer for Earthlinked Technologies, is now a member of the board of directors of the Geothermal Exchange Organization. Parsons has served as chief operating officer of EarthLinked Technologies since 1996, and is responsible for product development, training programs, standards compliance and authorized dealer relationships.

In accepting the nomination in early June 2014, Parsons said he wanted to contribute to various geothermal industry initiatives.

“It will be an honor to serve the geothermal heat pump industry as a GEO Board Member,” he said. “I look forward to taking an active role with the association, and help provide effective leadership on the legislative and regulatory issues that are so important to the future growth of geothermal heat pump market share.”
“We're pleased and excited that Joe has accepted our invitation to serve the industry as a Board Member of GEO,” said Chairman Steve Smith, of Enertech Global. “His decades of experience in the heating and cooling industry will prove invaluable to us as we forge ahead with ideas and activities to grow the geothermal heat pump market.”

During his career, Parsons served as president of Ray Company, Inc., an HVAC mechanical contracting firm. He was also vice president of marketing for Envirotherm Heating and Cooling Systems, Inc., an HVAC system manufacturer, and director of retail operations for U.S. Power Climate Control, Inc.

Parsons is a member of American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) and a corresponding member of TC 6.8 (Geothermal Heat Pump and Energy Recovery Applications). He is also the project committee chairman for Standard 194. He serves as a voting member of the Canadian Standards Association Technical Committee (Ground Source Heat Pumps/C448 Bi-national Standard Development), and as Chairman of the Technical Subsection Committee C448.7 (DX).

Parsons is a member of the Air-Conditioning, Refrigeration and Heating Institute (AHRI), and was elected Chairman of the Water Source and Geothermal Product Section at the AHRI Spring Meeting in March 2014. He also chairs the DGX Product Subsection and DGX Engineering Committee.

An active member of the California Geothermal Heat Pump Association, he is a contributor to the Geothermal Heat Exchange Well Standards Update. He also is involved with the advancement of geothermal technologies through participation in industry standards efforts in Australia. (GEO)

2014-15 GEO Officers 
The Geothermal Exchange Organization (GEO) Board of Directors met in late-March in Kansas City, Mo., to elect the group’s slate of officers for 2014 through 2015. The board unanimously picked the following candidates to lead the group:    
• Steve Smith (Enertech Global) Chairman 
• Keith Swilley (Gulf Power/Southern Co.)  Vice Chairman 
• Phil Schoen (Geo-Enterprises) Secretary and Treasurer  • Douglas Dougherty President and CEO    

As of June 6, 2014, the GEO Board also includes:   
• Tom Huntington (WaterFurnace) 
• Dan Ellis (ClimateMaster) 
• Chris Mays (Emerson-Copeland) 
• Joe Parsons (Earthlinked Technologies)]